My Week of Library Hopping

This past week has been a great week for my library (and bookstore) hopping obsession.

On Tuesday, not only did I visit two bookstores, I ended up going to the Tuality Health Resource Center and Oregon College of Art & Craft Library, both of which are part of WCCLS. THRC was a small room of medical and general health books and the only library I’ve seen with a skeleton. I was able to replace my library card, which I had lost, and noticed its new design with all the locations. OCAC was a wonderful campus that just screamed creativity. Its library not only held books in, of course, arts and craft but also exhibition guides and artists’ books.

Friday had me checking out the Portland Campus Library of Linfield College before going to a couple more bookstores. The college focuses on nursing so the library was similar to the THRC.

Finally, Saturday gave me two more libraries to add to my list. First up was the Grand Opening Celebration of the Aloha Community Library. To me, they were like “the little engine that could” of libraries. It took them 18 months but with the help of its residents, businesses, other libraries, and dedicated volunteers, they did it.

On hand for the festivities were some very important people, like Oregon State Representative Jeff Barker, Congresswoman Suzanne Bonamici, and Oregon State Librarian Mary Kay Dahlgreen. It definitely got crowded in the space but there was such excitement and a sense of accomplishment in the air! I was bummed that only Aloha residents can get a card. I would have liked to have added another library card to my collection. Hopefully, though, this library will be incorporated sooner rather than later into WCCLS.

My next stop was another academic library- this time, Concordia University’s FWJ Sylvester Library. I was impressed by its Special Collections- Northwest Center for Children’s Literature, Children’s Literature, and Volga German Studies. My favorite part, though, was getting to see the Berta and Elmer Hader Collection Exhibit. (You can read a write up of the exhibit on my other blog, The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer.)

So, including the public libraries in Multnomah, Washington, Clackamas, and Fort Vancouver counties, academic libraries, and libraries found in non-traditional locations like museums and non-profits, I’ve visited about 61 libraries. If I were to include Little Free Libraries and other neighborhood book boxes, that total would be 75. [You can view my lists of libraries (Parts I and II) and bookstores I’ve visited on yet another of my blog, A Semi-Blogged Life.]

I guess you can say I love libraries!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  1. Very Cool!

  2. You can get a library card from us! We are working on getting in to WCCLS. Looking forward to your encore!

    • Amy Grant
    • September 27th, 2012

    Come back to the Aloha Community Library for another (less crowded) visit! You can get an Aloha Community Library card if live anywhere that makes you eligible for a WCCLS card (Washington or Multnomah Counties, most of Clackamas County, etc).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

