My Citizenship

For awhile now, I’ve wanted to be a US citizen in order to have more of a voice/impact on issues that mattered to me.

And, as luck would have it, Multnomah County Library was holding one of their free citizenship classes (as part of their Outreach Services to adults) so I signed up.

I didn’t know what to expect. I was a bit nervous but I had no need to be. After introductions were made, the volunteer instructor gave a brief overview of the six-week course. We were given a packet containing the necessary forms and flash cards and other study materials.

While I decided to just attend one class since it seemed self-explanatory to me and to give the other students more time if they needed additional assistance, I was so grateful that the library offered his kind of service! It was just what I needed to get the process started.

If you’re interested in becoming a US citizen, check out when the next classes are here.

I decided to share my story now because I recently took my Oath Ceremony. I am now a US Citizen! Thanks to Multnomah County Library for helping me achieve this goal!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

