The Thrills of Visiting New Libraries

It’s so easy to fall in love with libraries. Even though I’ve visited a lot, I still get a thrill stepping inside one, not knowing exactly what I’ll find there.

Yesterday, I traveled to Wilsonville to finally check out its Library. Getting to certain places can be quite tricky when having to rely on public transportation- what with their limited services and somewhat inconvenient times. But the things I’ll do for libraries….

Carly will probably be the first to agree that I get lost quite easily so it’s for a few reasons I’m always happy when I see a sign pointing to the library! Even the exterior of the building, with its arched walkway leading to it, filled me with glee. The lobby led to the Oak and Rose conference rooms, the Twice Sold Tales bookstore (run by the Wilsonville Friends of the Library), and a corner full of free books (of library discards.)

Of course, I just wanted to run my fingers through all the books as I walked up and down the aisles of the Library itself. I thought their Music & Listening Center and impressive Heritage Collection set them apart from other libraries I’ve visited before. Also, I found out Wilsonville is only one of four Oregon cities that was participating in Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library program- an early childhood literacy initiative that mails out books to preschoolers on a monthly basis.

I took some pictures of the Wilsonville Public Library but they don’t do justice to just how beautiful it is- especially with all the art everywhere there.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

