Book Reviews: Librarian on the Roof! and Quiet, Please

I’ve been on a recent kick of reading books about libraries and librarians.

“Librarian on the Roof!” by M.G. King with illustrations by Stephen Gilpin

Earlier in the month, I read a picture book “Librarian on the Roof!” by M.G. King with illustrations by Stephen Gilpin. Based on a true story, it was cool to learn someone actually schemed up an original idea to raise money for their library to have a children’s section that kids would actually want to visit. The storytelling fell flat to me but kudos to RoseAleta Laurell of the Dr. Eugene Clark Library in Lockhart, Texas for what she did!

I also read “This Book is Overdue!” by Marilyn Johnson, which I enjoyed tremendously.

“Quiet, Please: Dispatches from a Public Librarian” by Scott Douglas

This week, I finished Scott Douglas’s humor memoir “Quiet, Please: Dispatches from a Public Librarian.” I immediately texted Carly to see what she had thought. Instead of writing a normal review, I’d just share our conversation.

Me: Have you read Quiet, Please by Scott Douglas? I kind of hate it but I can’t put it down.

Her: Yes, I liked it. I love how he talks about how people can’t believe that people have to go to library school to be librarians. I got a lot of that initially. Now I live in a bubble of librarians, so it doesn’t happen as often.

Me: It definitely started off fun and promising then spiraled into a whiny, exaggerated, humorless books. Having worked at libraries, I definitely knew people like he wrote about. Anyway, just needed to rant about what feels like the worst book I’ve read this rear although I’d give it 2 stars on Goodreads.

Her: Wow, two stars is pretty high coming from you!

So, yes. I have a love/hate relationship with this book.

I checked out Scott Douglas’s website and it might be of interest that you can read the script he and Andy Sweat had written for a TV pilot of “Quiet, Please.”

On his blog, Speak Quietly, he shares a librarian game he and his wife created called “Shelved.” I would try it if I had an iPhone or iPad but, alas, I only have an Android.

I’m interested to hear what your thoughts are on the books I’ve mentioned above- also, if you had played “Shelved?”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

