Book Review: This Book is Overdue!

This Book is Overdue! by Marilyn Johnson (Harper)

I’ve wanted to read “This Book is Overdue!” by Marilyn Johnson ever since it came out in 2010. It was getting a lot of buzz within my circle of friends. Not surprisingly, since most of them are book people and library lovers like me- if not librarians themselves. I don’t know why only now did I finally get around to it but I’m glad I did.

Even from its subtitle “How Librarians and Cybrarians Can Save Us All,” readers can expect that this won’t just be a typical look at libraries and librarians of yesteryear but also sharing how they are constantly changing in these days of information overload. Marilyn Johnson manages to cover these topics in an easy, conversational manner.

Of course, she’s preaching to the choir with me. I can’t say enough how important libraries are in people’s lives and as an integral part of any community. I can’t say enough how awesome librarians are in being of service to the public. This book just reconfirmed all my beliefs and strengthened them every time I read more.

Through blogging, publishing zines, and even creating digital version of themselves in cyberspace, they’re there to help. With fighting for patrons’ right to privacy and information, protecting important pieces of history, and changing the world through the use of technology, a librarian’s job is never done.

In a way, reading this book was long overdue. Don’t let that happen to you and check out a copy now! If you just can’t enough, be sure to check out the website of the same name, which includes the entire epilogue from the paperback edition, updates, and bonus features!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

