2012 Newbery and Caldecott Medal Winners and Honors Announced!

It’s awards season- even in the Book World.

Two of the most prestigious ones were just announced this morning.

(Images courtesy of the American Library Association)

Every January, the Newbery and Caldecott Medals are awarded to the best writers and illustrators in children’s literature.  These awards hold a lot of clout in terms of generating sales and creating household (or school or library) recognition. Mock awards are usually held in the days leading up to the event where students, teachers, parents, and literary bloggers placed their bets on who would win.

Since 1922, the John Newbery Medal has been awarded “for the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.” The (Randolph) Caldecott Medal “for the most distinguished American picture book for children” has been given out since 1938. The other nominated titles for each category are called Honor books. Frederic G. Melcher was responsible for thinking up these awards and the American Library Association (through their Association for Library Service to Children division) continues to uphold the tradition.

As someone who loves a reading challenge, I figured it would be fun to read all the Newbery and Caldecott winners. I was surprised by how many other people are into this. There’s definitely a strong online community who love kid’s books as much as I do!

Going over the list of past winners, I realized I had read some of them before. I decided that for the books in which I had recently (within the past few years) read and still remember the story, I won’t reread. I’m actually looking forward to picking up some books I recall reading in grade school. And there are titles and authors I’ve been meaning to read and hadn’t gotten around to that I will finally read.

I’m also excited for this challenge because I get to take advantage of the library’s awesome collection! Check out some images of the Newbery and Caldecott shelves at Central Library.

Newbery books

Caldecott books

You can read all about the award winners here. Congratulations to all the winners and honors!

Which Newbery and Caldecott books are your favorites? Do you have a reading challenge for 2012?

(Note: A version of this post was first published on my other blog- The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer.)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

